Nippori Fabric Town

Image

We had orientation at Tokyo Wonder Site today and it’s late in the afternoon, but I decide to go to Nippori Fabric Town anyway. It’s a street about a mile long containing many fabric stores. I walk through, but it isn’t what I’m looking for. A lot of the material is cheap and not made in Japan. I do find some Japanese indigo fabrics pictured above. The ghostly haze is from the fluorescent lights!

 

Image

Image

Image

I come across some beautiful African wax print fabrics. I love this style. The color and graphic quality reminds me of my own paintings. I also find the cotton duct that I was looking for! I should have known that it would be here.

Leave a Reply

