Rogei

Image

This small and unassuming shop sells vintage fabric and there is some good stuff here! I climb the stairs to the second floor and the lady that answers the door seems surprised to see me. My impression is that few foreigners find this place. I’m a little bit overwhelmed as I’m looking through the remnants. There are so many interesting designs and they are expensive. I skip the silk and start searching through vintage cotton pieces, which is what I prefer anyway.

 

Image

Image

I realize, as I’m looking, that I want fabric that has a painterly approach. I’m excited to see the dye and the hands in the process. I like the imperfections, like when a pattern bleeds or drips. I fall in love with the Shibori. Shibori is the Japanese art of tie-dyeing by binding, stitching, folding, twisting, compressing, or capping the fabric.

Image

Image

I purchase two pieces of Shibori and a couple of other vintage flower designs.

Leave a Reply

