Heiwajima Antique Fair

Image

This antique fair is for serious buyers and sellers and things are more expensive than the shrine sales and flea markets that I’m used to. I do run into a few of the same people selling textiles that I recognize from the Kawagoe market though.

 

Image

I discover a plastic bag in the corner of a booth and open it, finding some great boro pieces piled inside. I’m really excited, but before I can even take a picture, the antique dealer returns and is angry at me for looking through it. I have no idea what he’s saying, but I have to leave it. I also find a great little textile book with scraps of woven fabrics pasted inside (upper right).

Since my first attempt at stencil making, I have a new found respect for the complicated indigo patterns that I come across (upper left).

 

Image

Beautiful vintage wave design.

Leave a Reply

