The American School In Japan

School_Drawing

I wake up early this morning and take the train to Chofu, where I meet a friend from high school who now teaches at The American School In Japan. He has invited me to speak to a group of graduating seniors who are interested in pursuing art in college and possibly as a career. I focus my talk on how I started as an artist and show images of my early work. The kids are curious about my story and they listen patiently, despite the fact that they have two more days until graduation!

 

Image

I take a tour around the school, which starts from kindergarten and goes through high school. There are several art rooms, a great supply closet filled with paper, paints, clay and even a kiln. I’m impressed by the creative environment.

 

Image

http://community.asij.ac.jp/page.aspx?pid=2153

Leave a Reply

